president Buhari approves reopening of four more land borders

 President Buhari approves reopening of

four more land borders

President Muhammadu Buhari has

approved the reopening of four more land

borders. The borders are ldiroko in Ogun,

Jibiya in Katsina, Kamba in Kebbi and

Ikom in Cross River.

Recall that as part of measures to curb

the proliferation of illegal importation of

drugs, small arms and agricultural

products into Nigeria from neighbouring

West African countries, President Buhari

in August 2019 ordered the closure of

land borders.

In 2020, the president ordered the

reopening of borders in Seme in Lagos,

llela in Sokoto, Maigatari in Jigawa, and

Mfum in Cross River.

President Buhari approves reopening of

four more land borders

A memo released by the deputy

comptroler-general of the NCS, E, I.

Edorhe, and released on April 22,

disclosed that the President has given an

order for the reopening of the borders.

Sequel to the presidential directive dated

16 December, 2020, granting approval for

phased reopening of land borders namely

Mfum, Seme, Illela and Maigatari borders

across the country, l am directed to

inform you that four additional borders

listed below have been approved for re-

opening: ldiroko border post, Ogun state

(south-west zone); Jibiya border post,

Katsina (north-west zone); Kamba border

post, Kebbi state (north-west zone); and

Ikom border post, Cross River state (south

-couth zone) the memo reads

Consequently, all customs formations and

JBPTs are to take note and ensure that

proper manning takes place in compliance

with extant operational guidelines."the

memo read in part


Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post